School council general election update: Nominations closed and three Catholic schools to hold a vote

Date: Thursday 25 April 2024

Candidate nominations for the 17 Yukon Education school councils closed at noon today. All school councils will meet quorum, having at least two elected members. A total of 79 candidates put their names forward for 86 elected positions.

School council members in the 14 Yukon Education schools were elected by acclamation. The three Catholic schools will hold a poll to elect members to their school council, they are:

  • Christ the King Elementary School
  • Holy Family Elementary School
  • St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary School

Who can vote

Yukoners can vote in the school council election if they are a Canadian citizen, at least 18 years of age, and either:

  • the parent/guardian of a student attending the school
  • have been a resident in the school's attendance area for at least three (3) months and are a registered parishioner of Sacred Heart Cathedral parish or Our Lady of Victory parish
  • have written approval from the Bishop of the Catholic Diocese of Whitehorse designating them a resident in the attendance area for electoral purposes.

How to vote

Eligible electors can vote in-person at the school holding the election on:

  • Saturday, May 4 from 11:00 am to 4:00 pm; or
  • Monday, May 6 from 3:00 pm to 8:00 pm.

Electors can also vote by requesting a ballot be mailed to them or be held for pick up at Elections Yukon’s office during business hours.

Quick facts

  • There are 17 Yukon Education schools with councils with a combined total of 86 elected positions.
  • The deadline for candidates to submit nomination papers was Thursday, April 25, 2024, at noon.
  • 79 Yukoners were nominated for election. Of those nominated:
    • 24 (28%) are parents of a student attending the school
    • 20 (23%) are residents of the school’s attendance area
    • 35 (41%) are both parents of a student attending the school and a resident of the school’s attendance area
  • Three schools will hold a vote to elect members to the school council. All three schools are Catholic schools. There are a combined 26 candidates for the 15 elected school council positions. The list of candidates, and their photos and biographies (if submitted) can be found on
  • Fourteen schools (82%) elected members to school council by acclamation. Of those, four filled all elected positions.
  • At the close of nominations, 18 positions remained vacant.
  • All schools had at least two nominated candidates. School councils require at least two members to operate.
  • Applications to vote by mail are available on or by emailing
  • Elected members will begin their term of office the day before the start of the 2024/25 school year. School calendars are available on

Learn more

To learn about the nomination process, who is running as a candidate, and important election updates, visit or follow @ElectionsYukon on Facebook or X (formerly Twitter).

For more information, contact

Colleen Madore
Elections Yukon
Assistant Chief Electoral Officer
(867) 667-8683

For information about school councils, visit


Candidates at schools requiring a vote

Christ the King Elementary School

  1. Milton Davis
  2. Kayla Jurovich
  3. Rocío Castro
  4. Evan Moffat
  5. Emilie Dory
  6. Alethea Wallace
  7. Mike Snider

Holy Family Elementary School

  1. Kenechukwu Onwudinjo
  2. David MacMartin
  3. Shirah Davis
  4. Liz Berg
  5. Sarah Hougen
  6. Robyn Burns
  7. Nancy Heinbigner
  8. Brandon Morris
  9. Sara Poirier
  10. Jody Eikelboom
  11. Gina Anderson
  12. Daniel Harms
  13. Barbara Drury

St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary School

  1. Christopher Potvin
  2. Ben Yu Schott
  3. Ryan Sikkes
  4. Bagalao Rod
  5. Jeannette Gallant
  6. Katherine Williams

File Attachments:

File Size
SC2024 Nominations closed NR

156.73 KB