Main page content

School elections

School council and School board elections are conducted in accordance with the Education Act.


Key Dates for School Election

Monday, September 14: Nomination papers of candidates can be picked up at schools as of this date (or printed off on-line - See up and submitted to the Returning Officer.)

Thurs., September 24: Close of Nominations. To be a candidate, nomination papers of candidates must be submitted by 12:00 PM. 

Mon., October 5: Polling Day (if voting is required). Voting hours are between 3:00 PM and 8:00 PM. 

The Chief Electoral Officer, Maxwell Harvey, is working in close collaboration with the Government of Yukon to ensure the appropriate COVID-19 measures and precautions are in place to protect public health during the election period. 

School Council Nomination Forms and information, are available here.


School Council By-Elections Results (october 2018)

There were five school council by-elections held in October 2018.

For results click here

School Council General Elections Attendance Area

A general election is held every two years to elect members to each school council that represents the territory’s 26 attendance areas, which are available below. The number of members of each school council appears here.

The School Council General Elections, originally scheduled for May 4, 2020, have been postponed to protect the safety of electors, candidates and election officials. The Minister of Education, the Honorable Tracy-Anne McPhee, has approved the revised date for the general election for members of school councils in the 26 attendance areas to be Monday, October 5, 2020. 

Attendance Area Maps

Attendance area maps for schools in the communities and for Whitehorse are below. 


PDF icon Chief Zzeh Gittlit school (Old Crow)

130.13 KB
PDF icon Christ_the_King_elementary.pdf

1.66 MB
PDF icon Del Van Gorder school (Faro)

97.83 KB
PDF icon Elijah_Smith.pdf

8.66 MB
PDF icon Eliza Van Bibber school (Pelly Crossing)

112.45 KB
PDF icon FH_Collins.pdf

5.24 MB
PDF icon Ghuch Tla Community (Carcross)

0 bytes
PDF icon Golden_Horn_elementary.pdf

1.5 MB
PDF icon Grey_Mountain_primary.pdf

3.51 MB
PDF icon Hidden_Valley_elementary.pdf

5.65 MB
PDF icon Holy_Family.pdf

1.48 MB
PDF icon Jack_Hulland_elementary.pdf

22.81 MB
PDF icon J.V. Clark school (Mayo)

127.57 KB
PDF icon Khatinas.axh Community school (Teslin)

124.83 KB
PDF icon Kluane Lake school (Destruction Bay)

102.96 KB
PDF icon Nelnah Bessie John school (Beaver Creek)

114.26 KB
PDF icon Porter_Creek_secondary.pdf

5.62 MB
PDF icon Robert Service school (Dawson City)

131.68 KB
PDF icon Ross River school (Ross River)

116.32 KB
PDF icon Selkirk_elementary.pdf

17.61 MB
PDF icon Takhini_elementary.pdf

5.9 MB
PDF icon Vanier_catholic_secondary.pdf

9.75 MB
PDF icon Whitehorse_elementary.pdf

18.59 MB

School Board Trustees General Election

Five School board trustees are elected to the Yukon Francophone School Board every three years 

School Board Trustees Elections Summary (November 2019)

Five School Board Trustees were elected from six nominated candidates. Results from the 2019 School Board Election and other general elections are available here.


For more information on school councils, contact:

Department of Education

Box 2703

Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 2C6

(867) 667-8226

Association of Yukon School Councils, Boards and Committees

Box 30071

Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 5M2

(867) 336-2698


For more information on school boards, contact:

Yukon Francophone School Board

478 Range Road, suite 3

Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 3A2