

May 7, 2024

MEDIA ADVISORY

SCHOOL COUNCIL GENERAL ELECTION OFFICIAL RESULTS

The school council election period concluded on Monday, May 6, 2024, with three schools holding a vote:

- Christ the King Elementary School
- Holy Family Elementary School
- St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary School

The official addition of the vote was held on Tuesday, May 7, 2024, at noon at the schools where the elections were held. The margin in votes received by each candidate means that no recounts are required.

School council members at the other 14 Yukon Education schools were elected by acclamation.

The official results for all school council elections and the list of elected members are below.

Quick facts

- Three schools (18%) held a vote to elect members to the school council. The three schools had a combined 26 candidates for the 15 elected school council positions.
- Across the three schools that held a vote, there were 386 voters

	Early vote Sat. May 4	Polling day Mon. May 6	Mail-in ballot	TOTAL # VOTERS
Christ the King Elementary	18	65	4	87
Holy Family Elementary	42	99	5	146
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary	40	106	7	153
TOTAL # VOTERS	100	270	16	386

- Fourteen schools (82%) elected members to school council by acclamation. Of those, five filled all elected positions.
- School council members serve a two-year term. Their term will begin the day before the start of the 2024/25 school year. School calendars are available on Yukon.ca.
- School council elections are conducted following the *Education Act*.

Learn more

To learn about the school council elections visit <u>ElectionsYukon.ca</u>. For information about school councils, visit <u>yukon.ca/school-councils</u>

Colleen Madore Elections Yukon Assistant Chief Electoral Officer (867) 667-8683 schools@electionsyukon.ca



2024 SCHOOL COUNCIL ELECTIONS – OFFICIAL RESULTS MEMBERS ELECTED BY A POLL

SCHOOL	# ELECTED POSITIONS	ELECTED (by number of votes received)		TOTAL # VOTERS
Christ the King Elementary School	5	Milton Davis	59	
		Evan Moffat	57	
		Rocío Castro	56	87
		Mike Snider	44	
		Alethea Wallace	34	
Holy Family Elementary School	5	Gina Anderson	102	
		Shirah Davis	90	
		Robyn Burns	82	146
		Jody Eikelboom	71	
		Sara Poirier	65	
St. Francis of Assisi Catholic Secondary School	5	Rod Bagaslao	107	
		Ryan Sikkes	107	
		Jeanette Gallant	104	153
		Christopher Potvin	91	
		Katherine Williams	68	



2024 SCHOOL COUNCIL ELECTIONS – OFFICIAL RESULTS MEMBERS ELECTED BY ACCLAMATION

SCHOOL	# ELECTED POSITIONS		ELECTED (by order nominations received)
École Selkirk Elementary School	5	3	Tim Kucharuk John Coyne
École Whitehorse Elementary School	7	1	Micah Quinn Kelly Jiang Johanna Havelaar Gary Whittle Sheila Merkley Sarah Gallina
Elijah Smith Elementary School	3	0	Jessie Dawson Doronn Fox Jacine Fox
F.H. Collins Secondary School	7	2	Sandra Henderson Mike Etches Karen Clyde Vanessa Thorson Quinn Sinclair
Golden Horn Elementary School	5	3	Shannon Fulop Shelly Peters
Hidden Valley School	5	0	Alyssa Bradley Stephanie Coombes Darcy Olesen Lara-Rae Trotter Alisha Zylstra
Jack Hulland Elementary School	7	1	Scott Holliday Taelor Mason Caitlyn Carey Randi Lopushinsky Jesse Bouchard Micah Olesh



2024 SCHOOL COUNCIL ELECTIONS – OFFICIAL RESULTS MEMBERS ELECTED BY ACCLAMATION

SCHOOL	# ELECTED POSITIONS	# VACANT POSITIONS	ELECTED (by order nominations received)
Porter Creek Secondary School ¹	7	0	Jennifer Floyd Misty Ticiniski Jessie Dawson Marcel Holder Robinson Neil Salvin Brice Harding Sarah Kitz ¹
Whistle Bend Elementary School	5	1	Amy Nichols-Hogan Rebecca Hutchungs-Archibaid Andrea Oldridge Rachel McRorie
Del Van Gorder School (Faro)	5	2	Grace Bowers Trevor Piercey Ben Passmore
J.V. Clark School (Mayo)	3	1	Sarah Paschuk Ashley Churches
Khàtinas.axh Community School (Teslin)	3	0	Rachael Blake-Elias Jari Smarch Jennifer Clark
Robert Service School (Dawson)	6	3	Molly MacDonald Lisa Perry John McDonald
Tantalus School (Carmacks)	3	0	Tara Wheeler Paul Sahagian Lorraine O'Brien
TOTAL	71	17	

_

¹ One member acclaimed to the Porter Creek Secondary School council was erroneously omitted from an earlier release.