Contenu de la page principale

Referendum Voting Period for Yukon First Nations School Board

January 11-27, 2021 - Voting Period

At the close of the petition period, the Minister of Education has accepted resolutions or petitions in eight attendance areas, triggering a referendum vote. The schools are:

  • Chief Zzeh Gittlit School (Old Crow)
  • Grey Mountain Primary School (Whitehorse)
  • J.V. Clark School (Mayo)
  • Johnson Elementary School and Watson Lake Secondary School (Watson Lake)
  • Nelnah Bessie John School (Beaver Creek)
  • Ross River School (Ross River)
  • St. Elias Community School (Haines Junction)
  • Takhini Elementary School (Whitehorse)



Key dates:

  • January 5, 2022 – early applications for mail-out ballots open.
  • January 7, 2022 – dates, times and locations of in-person voting will be posted on
  • January 11 to 27, 2022 – referendum voting period. Eligible electors will have multiple options to cast their vote.


To be qualified to vote in the referendum, electors must be Canadian citizens, at least 18 years of age and either have resided in the school attendance area where the referendum is occurring for at least three months or be a parent of a child attending the school where a referendum is occurring.  To receive a ballot, electors must complete an application which includes a self-declaration of their eligibility.

Eligible electors may also request a ballot kit be mailed to them. This option is available to all electors including those who are away from the area during the referendum period. Applications for mail-out ballots will be open on from January 5 to 17, 2022. Mail-out ballots can be returned by mail or hand-delivered to the local Referendum Officer, to Elections Yukon or at the drop box located at the Main Administration Building in Whitehorse.

You can find more information here