Main page content

Elections Yukon Outlines the Referendum Process

Date:  Thursday, December 23, 2021

At the request of the Minister of Education, the Chief Electoral Officer has agreed to oversee the referendum and voting process on the First Nation School Board on the Minister’s behalf to ensure it is fair, transparent and impartial.


At the close of the petition period, the Minister of Education has accepted resolutions or petitions in eight attendance areas, triggering a referendum vote. The schools are:

  • Chief Zzeh Gittlit School (Old Crow)
  • Grey Mountain Primary School (Whitehorse)
  • J.V. Clark School (Mayo)
  • Johnson Elementary School and Watson Lake Secondary School (Watson Lake)
  • Nelnah Bessie John School (Beaver Creek)
  • Ross River School (Ross River)
  • St. Elias Community School (Haines Junction)
  • Takhini Elementary School (Whitehorse)


The referendum voting period for those schools will occur from Tuesday, January 11 to Thursday, January 27, 2022. There will be multiple options for eligible electors to receive and cast their ballot. Eligible electors may vote in person with their local Referendum Officer at set times and locations (these will vary by community), by appointment in the community, or in-person at Elections Yukon in Whitehorse.


Eligible electors may also request a ballot kit be mailed to them. This option is available to all electors including those who are away from the area during the referendum period. Applications for mail-out ballots will be open on from January 5 to 17, 2022. Mail-out ballots can be returned by mail or hand-delivered to the local Referendum Officer, to Elections Yukon or at the drop box located at the Main Administration Building in Whitehorse.


For more information on the referendum process please click here

File Attachments: 

PDF icon nr_yfnsb_dec_2021.pdf

561.2 KB