Electoral District Boundaries Commission

Updated 3 yrs ago

An Electoral District Boundaries Commission is appointed, in accordance with the Elections Act, within six months of polling day following every second general election.

The Commission is chaired by a judge or retired judge of the Supreme Court, a representative of each registered political party represented in the Legislative Assembly and the Chief Electoral Officer.

The Commission is responsible to review the existing electoral districts and to make proposals to the Legislative Assembly as to the boundaries, number and names of the electoral districts of the Yukon.

A Commission was appointed on May 3, 2017 to review the electoral district boundaries. Electoral district boundaries, once enacted, will be in place for the next two general elections. Additional information appears on the Commission’s website, here.

Reports of past Commissions are available here.